What Time Do Stock Markets Open and Close?

Trading in the stock market successfully means keeping up with a truckload of pertinent data and information. Stock trading hours may seem like a small part of that, but you’d be surprised just how many stock traders aren’t exactly sure when they open – or how many don’t think it matters either way.

The truth is, when a stock exchange opens does matter, especially if you are a day trader and need to time your trades. Here is a list of opening and closing times for all the major stock exchanges in the global market today.

(Beginning from American markets and moving forwards in time)

New York Stock Exchange (NYSE)

Open: 9:30am EST / 14:30 Universal Time Code (UTC)
Close: 4:00pm EST / 21:00 UTC

NASDAQ

Open: 9:30am EST / 14:30 UTC
Close: 4:00pm EST / 21:00 UTC

Toronto Stock Exchange (TSK)

Open: 9:30am EST / 14:30 UTC
Close: 4:00pm EST / 21:00 UTC

Mexican Stock Exchange (BMV)

Open: 8:30am CST / 15:30 UTC
Close: 3:00pm CST / 21:30 UTC

New Zealand Stock Market (NZSX)

Open: 10:00am NZST / 22:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm NZST / 05:00 UTC

Australian Securities Exchange (ASX)

Open: 9:50am AEST / 23:50 UTC
Close: 4:12pm AEST / 06:12 UTC

Tokyo Stock Exchange (TSE)

Open: 9:00am JST / 00:00 UTC
Close: 3:00pm JST / 06:00 UTC

Korea Stock Exchange (KRX)

Open: 9:00am JST / 00:00 UTC
Close: 3:00pm JST / 06:00 UTC

Bursa Malaysia (MYX)

Open: 9:00am MYT / 01:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm MYT / 09:00 UTC

Singapore Exchange (SGX)

Open: 9:00am SGT / 01:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm SGT / 09:00 UTC

Taiwan Stock Exchange (TSE)

Open: 9:00am CST / 01:00 UTC
Close: 1:30pm CST / 05:30 UTC

Hong Kong Stock Exchange (HKEX)

Open: 9:20am HKT / 01:20 UTC
Close: 4:00pm HKT / 08:00 UTC

Shanghai Stock Exchange (SSE)

Open: 9:30am CST / 01:30 UTC
Close: 3:30pm CST / 07:00 UTC

Shenzhen Stock Exchange (SZSE)

Open: 9:30am CST / 01:30 UTC
Close: 3:30pm CST / 07:00 UTC

Philippine Stock Exchange (PSE)

Open: 9:30am PST / 01:30 UTC
Close: 3:30pm PST / 07:30 UTC

Indonesian Stock Exchange

Open: 9:30am WIB / 02:30 UTC
Close: 4:00pm WIB / 09:00 UTC

Stock Exchange of Thailand (SET)

Open: 10:00am ICT / 03:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm ICT / 09:30 UTC

Bombay Stock Exchange (BSE)

Open: 9:15am IST / 03:45 UTC
Close: 3:30pm IST / 10:00 UTC

National Stock Exchange of India (NSE)

Open: 9:15am IST / 03:45 UTC
Close: 3:30pm IST / 10:00 UTC

Colombo Stock Exchange (CSE)

Open: 9:30am IST / 04:00 UTC
Close: 2:30m IST / 09:00 UTC

Johannesburg Stock Exchange (JSE)

Open: 9:00am CAT / 07:00 UTC
Close: 5:00pm CAT / 15:00 UTC

Frankfurt Stock Exchange (FSX)*

Open: 8:00am CET / 07:00 UTC
Close: 10:00pm CET / 21:00 UTC

Istanbul Stock Exchange (ISE)*

Open: 9:30am EET / 07:30 UTC
Close: 5:30pm EET / 15:30 UTC

Wiener Börse AG / Vienna Stock Exchange*

Open: 8:55am CET / 07:55 UTC
Close: 5:35pm CET / 16:35 UTC

Ukrainian Exchange (UX)

Open: 10:00am EET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm EET / 15:30 UTC

Amman Stock Exchange (ASE)*

Open: 10:00am EET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 12:00pm EET / 10:00 UTC

Euronext Paris (EPA)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Swiss Exchange (SIX)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Berne eXchange (BX)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm CET / 15:30 UTC

Spanish Stock Exchange (BME)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Milan Stock Exchange (MTA)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:25pm CET / 16:25 UTC

Euronext Amsterdam (AMS)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:40pm CET / 16:40 UTC

Helsinki Stock Exchange (OMX)*

Open: 10:00am EET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 18:30pm EET / 16:30 UTC

Stockholm Stock Exchange (OMX)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Oslo Stock Exchange (OSE)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Copenhagen Stock Exchange (CSE)*

Open: 9:00am CST / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CST / 16:00 UTC

Warsaw Stock Exchange (GPW)*

Open: 9:00am CET / 08:00 UTC
Close: 5:30pm CET / 16:30 UTC

Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE)

Open: 10:00am WAT / 09:00 UTC
Close: 4:00pm WAT / 15:00 UTC

London Stock Exchange (LSE)*

Open: 8:00am GMT / 08:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm GMT / 16:30 UTC

Irish Stock Exchange (ISE)*

Open: 8:00am GMT / 08:00 UTC
Close: 4:30pm GMT / 16:30 UTC

Bolsa de Valores de Sao Paulo (Bovespa)

Open: 10:00am BRST / 13:00 UTC
Close: 17:00pm BRST / 20:00 UTC

*Daylight Savings Time is in effect from March to October

Remember that as you go west, markets open later. The London Stock Exchange, for example, opens 6.5 hours earlier than the NYSE. Because of this time difference, what goes on in Asian markets – for good or bad – often affects European markets, which impacts American markets during the course of a calendar day.

Now you know when the market opens and closes how about..

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email

About Karl

Connect with me on Google+

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply